Dreamforce Diaries

What am I celebrating today? It’s my first blog post as part of the series of articles I will be writing called Dreamforce Diaries.

Dreamforce is the biggest and the most awesome event organized by Salesforce.

A lot happen at Dreamforce you learn, share your knowledge, make connections, memories, and friends that you may cherish a lifetime.  This may surprise you; this Dreamforce had the biggest number of attendees of all time, so I reached out to some of the lucky people who got the chance to attend this year’s Dreamforce about their experience.

I am so excited, are you? let’s see who answered what!!

Charlie Isaacs (Salesforce CTO for Customer Connection)

charlie-augie-liesel-levi-headshot-1

Your experience at Dreamforce 2016?

In a word, incredible!

It all started with Dreamforce “Day 0” – before people arrived. We spent Sunday at Moscone getting things set up. The camaraderie and teamwork from the folks in the IoT Cabin under the leadership of Josh Birk was amazing.

In less than a day, the team was able to build and integrate a Lego city, an IoT pathway for the sight-impaired, connected robots, and many other connected devices to Salesforce. It really demonstrated the power of the platform.

People coming in at the last minute — oh, we just bought Haywire, can we send SMS texts on this demo scenario? Oh, we have this cool new Scio mass spectrometer device, can we hook this up? How about SigFox’s Sensit Communication device? SURE! The answer was always yes.

I can’t really pick a favorite moment during Dreamforce–of course, the keynotes were all great. It was fun interacting with the audience with connected beach balls during the IoT Cloud Keynote.

Every one of my 13 “formal” customer meetings was interactive, engaging, and resulted in many follow-up activities. And running into people on the fly, non-stop hugs and selfies…how can you beat that?

At the top of my Dreamforce “experience” list was probably seeing APEX and The Limits on the main stage at Dreampark. Everyone dancing, singing along, it was like a mini-Woodstock within the Technology Woodstock that is Dreamforce 🙂

Funniest moment of Dreamforce 2016?

 My funniest moment was probably at my Connected Vehicle breakout session.

When I arrived in the room, the stage was configured differently than anticipated. There was no way people in the back could see my connected vehicle demo…so we added a table on top of the stage.

I reconfigured the demo to shorten the distances (I was using beacons and an IoS app connected to IoTCloud for the notification-triggering.) To make a long story short, I drove my remote-control vehicle across the table and it was a much shorter distance than my coordination abilities would accommodate…so of course, I drove the Truck off the table.

Fortunately, one of my co-presenters caught the vehicle and saved it from crashing onto the floor. The Truck eventually made it to Minnie Mouse’s Bake Shop and delivered the ingredients for Goofy’s Birthday Cake. Disaster Averted.

It was really great seeing everyone, especially all of my friends in India whom I don’t see very often except on Social Media.

Daniel Peter  (Salesforce MVP, Bay Area Salesforce Developer User Group Organizer)

daniel-peter

Your experience at  Dreamforce 2016?

 Despite the Moscone construction, Dreamforce 2016 was the biggest and best yet!

The epic collection of people to network with, information, and fun gatherings was one for the record books.  I met so many people in person for the first time, as well as met up with those I already had met.

I learned the state of the art of all things Salesforce Development related such as all the new Winter 17 lightning features, and the best way to build apps on the App Cloud.  As an MVP I was invited to special events such as the Awesome People Party.

I also was fortunate to get the chance to volunteer as a floater in the Admin Meadow where I got my own green Trailhead vest and was able to answer a large variety of Salesforce questions the attendees had.

The U2 concert at the Cloud Palace was epic.  Bono and company delivered an inspirational performance.  Salesforce Developer Relations organized an amazing “Beautiful Day” community breakfast the morning after the U2 concert with great food and a collection of some of the most influential people in the Salesforce community.

One of the highlights of the conference for me was getting to be on the Top ISV Architects Panel with Andrew Fawcett.  We got some difficult questions from the audience and put our heads together to give them our best advice.

One of my favorite parties was the CRM Science puzzle party.  They create a great atmosphere that is conducive to connecting with so many great people.  Make sure not to miss this one next year!

Funniest moment of Dreamforce 2016?

daniel-peter1

My funniest moment was seeing myself pop up on the big screen at Marc Benioff’s keynote.  I was surprised to see myself up there, and it always makes me laugh to see a recording of myself.

The big screen with that many people magnified the effect!  It would take me much more time than I have to describe all the memorable moments I took away from Dreamforce, but hopefully, this gives you a little sampling of some of the memorable moments.

David Liu (Salesforce MVP, Works @ Google)

david-liu

Your experience at Dreamforce 2016?

 Dreamforce is always my favorite week of the year, I am still sad it is over!

What shocked me the most about Dreamforce this year is how many of the attendees were new to the industry.

It just shows how strong the industry is and how quickly it is growing!

Can’t wait to try out the new Lightning features and Einstein too!

Funniest moment of Dreamforce 2016?

 The funniest moment is when I saw Astro and the Trailhead team dancing like maniacs outside the Dev zone. I was ashamed that a person inside a giant raccoon costume was a far better dancer than me.

J-Michel Mougeolle (Salesforce MVP, Salesforce France User Group Leader)

j-michel-mougeolle

Your experience at Dreamforce 2016?

 My experience at DF16 was really special. It was my very first time as a sponsor with SharinPix. It made me frustrated not being able to enjoy all the networking, the sessions, and the Dev/Admin/Trailhead fun… even if I had time to go and discover a few of those places where I used to spend days before!

However, I managed to spend a great time with my MVP fellows and can’t wait to return there once again!

Funniest moment of Dreamforce 2016?

jean-michel-mougeolle

This selfie with Ombr, Ana Q was definitely the funniest time, a lot of people enjoyed our booth, but this one is really really really #awesome! We had great laugh taking it and I still have the smile ON each time I look at it, don’t you?

Fabrice Cathala (Salesforce Architect, Baldforce)

fabrice-cathala

Your experience at Dreamforce 2016?

 Einstein, Trailhead, SalesforceDX. These are my top 3 takeaways.

– Einstein is still small but it’s got a massive potential to impact the users’ life.

– Trailhead is turning into a platform and this is great news. I was a speaker at the panel      “map-out your career with Trailhead” and we discussed the impact this great tool has on  Salesforce professional’s lives.

– Salesforce DX is a developer’s approach of ALM. It should take a good year before it reaches GA though…

Funniest moment of Dreamforce 2016?

fabrice

The funniest moments for me were hanging out with my friends from the community. #DF16 has been amazing in this respect. I bumped into so many people I knew either from DUGs or from the online community. The Developer User Group Leaders, #Baldforce and Trailhead events were awesome.

If you also want to share your experience with Salesforce Community, please contact me.

If you like my Blog, please share it on Facebook and Twitter.

I will be introducing other ambassadors soon and will be sharing their stories too.

One thought on “Dreamforce Diaries

  1. Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue regarding this paragraph here at this web site, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

