MVP Vibes

This is my Third blog post as part of the series of articles I am writing called MVP Vibes”. 

MVP Program by Salesforce include so many benefits but biggest of all is an invitation to speak at Dreamforce where it sounds so awesome, becoming MVP is not that easy, it takes continues contribution in Salesforce Community and real-time efforts.

Salesforce MVP is the one who guides community and recognizes for their Passion, Integrity, Knowledge, Courage, Vision, and Awesomeness.

Today I am introducing one of our new WINTER 2017 MVP

Justin Barss

Salesforce MVP | Non-Profit Technologist Cheerleader & Coach

 

Justin

 

 

How did you start your Journey?

The experience of “community” has been the water I have swum in since I graduated college and started my first internship at an urban ministry – living in the cross-cultural community providing services to youth and families in Wilmington, Delaware.  Through several community connections, this organization began using Salesforce in 2010 and I was offered the job to import our Donor and Volunteer information and grow it there.  It was one-quarter of my job at the time (like most nonprofit staff) but I loved the idea of Salesforce and building my own ways to measure and track important data.  Since then, I’ve helped build apps for legal tech, have done my own independent consulting, and finally, have found a home at Now IT Matters for the last four years.  I have grown incredibly through my positions there and love the constant challenge of finding ways to help clients and nonprofits leverage Salesforce to fulfill their mission.

How do you feel?

I was honestly surprised when I received the email about the MVP award.  I had tried to get it the year prior and “focused” on it as a career goal, but when I was promoted to Director of Sales and needed to learn a brand new skill set to help clients, then the idea of “becoming MVP” didn’t seem that important anymore.  At the time, I was traveling to Nonprofit Success Pack sprints, attending & helping at User Groups, however, I could, and meeting folks in person to talk through Salesforce.  I was honored and flattered and have found a brand new group of “co-conspirators” to try new ideas and build up our #Ohana.

What have you been working on?

I’ve had an incredible time developing more friendships with the awesome Women in Technology group in Washington, D.C.   Getting to know MVP Toya Gatewood, MVP Rebecca Lammers, and the User Group Leaders Rakia Finley & LeAndria Streeter has been a privilege and an honor.  As a husband, a father to two daughters, and a peer to some incredible female leaders in technology – I have a lot to learn in how to continue to support women’s voice in our community.

Apart from that, I’m stirring up some “Trailhead oriented” ideas after seeing how many resources are available to lower the learning curve for Users, Admins, and Devs to learn Salesforce more effectively.

When you first got involved in Community?

When I first heard about User Groups from attending a local World Tour, I immediately signed up for the Philadelphia Nonprofit User Group in 2011 or so.  The things I learned there from Dean Graham and a number of the Nonprofit Admins transformed the way I looked at solving Salesforce problems and coming up with solutions.  It also got me hooked – once I started learning better ways to do Salesforce through real people at User Groups and in person, I always wanted to meet with others to compare ideas and learn from each other.

What do you find most challenging after becoming MVP?

It feels a bit like the title and the MVP community offers you access to an entire network of “Ohana capacity” that you can develop your own “MVP path” in how you want to create value and drive people towards learning and development.  I’m looking to choose wisely and invest well with the relationships and people I know.  It’s hard drinking from the “firehose” when it comes to learning Salesforce, but it’s even more exciting to consider how “little old me” from small town Virginia can help folks throughout the Power of Us Hub and the Success Community with their learning.

What can Community Expect from their MVP?

I’ve begun to focus on select meetings with nonprofit Admins when I travel – looking to connect personally, hear their vision for Salesforce at their nonprofit, and help develop their abilities their abilities to do “more good, better” with their CRM and their data.  This has been my “community experience” over the years – especially at Now IT Matters – and I’m looking to have an exponential impact on Salesforce’s 1-1-1 model through investing well in the future.

 

I Hope you liked my blog post as part of the series of articles I am writing called MVP Vibes.

In case you missed the first blog:

In case you missed the second blog:

If you also want to share your experience with Salesforce Community, please contact me.

If you like my Blog, please share it on Facebook and Twitter.

I will be introducing other ambassadors soon and will be sharing their stories too.

 

Leave a Reply

